Short Indonesian Currency Lesson

 

Greetings from Wamena!  This is Valerie, Becky’s mother-in-law.  I arrived here this past Sunday after a very long trip, and I asked Becky if I could write in her place.  She leads a very busy life – life with two year twins is busy anywhere, but add a 7 year old and a 5 year old, and living in a developing country, and well, her days are very full.  The other thing is that she’s been here in Indonesia for awhile, and she’s feeling more at home.   I know lots of you all are curious about what life is like here, so for the next few posts I’ll do my best to give you a look through fresh, “outsider’s” eyes.  Warning: upcoming randomness.

Reece has lost her front tooth.  I asked her what the tooth fairy brought her, and she said “a blue one.”  (Some of you remember the difficult time Reece had with a tooth problem and a practicing non-dentist.  Keep that in mind when you consider the tooth fairy’s generous pay out.)  I laughed out loud.  Later I heard Joe talking about something he deemed very expensive, as in, “Bet that would take about ten of the pink ones, wouldn’t it, Dad?” 

When I came to visit, I was bringing quite a lot of extra baggage, so on the next to the last leg of my journey here, from Makassar to Sentani, a “local” flight, I had to pay the extra fees in rupiah.  Credit cards are not accepted at the baggage check-in counter; I had to go to another counter where a friendly man wrote down the number of rupiah I needed to pay.  Was I seeing correctly?  Over a million and a half?!!  I had been to the ATM in this same airport, and because I had to pay for my stay in a guest room (another blog) and eaten dinner, I had taken out the maximum withdrawal allowed.  I began counting it out – not enough!  The kind man kindly pointed me once again to the ATM upstairs, where once again I withdrew the maximum allowed – a thick stack of bills, all in the same denomination: “blue ones” – that is to say, 50,000 rupiah each.  Worth about $5 each in U.S. currency.  My maximum withdrawal was about $135 in U.S. currency. 

 Daniel says just take off 4 zeroes.  FOUR zeroes?  Honestly!  Reece and Joe have the right idea, one I as an adult didn’t latch on to until I heard it from them.  LOOK AT THE COLOR!  “Blue ones” are $5 bills.  “Pink ones” are $10.  Don’t look at the zeroes.  They trip me up every time.  Too many of them!  But still it’s a good thing that I won’t be doing much marketing here on my own.

Published in: on November 1, 2013 at 12:19 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fullnessofhisgrace.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/short-indonesian-currency-lesson/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment